Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services

Library rules

Welcome to the 3AMK library!

Welcome to the library! The 3AMK library is formed by the libraries of Haaga-Helia, Laurea, and Metropolia.
Our libraries are open to the public. However, some materials and services are available to the students and personnel of Haaga-Helia, Laurea, and Metropolia only. More information is available from the libraries.

Borrowing privileges

You will receive a library card upon providing your contact information and presenting an ID card with photo and identity code. Students of Haaga-Helia, Laurea, and Metropolia can create a library card also with Tuudo application used by their institution. A person under the age of 15 is granted a library card with his/her guardian’s permission.

The library card is personal. You are responsible for all materials borrowed with your card. Inform the library of a lost card. Until the library has been informed of a lost library card, the responsibility for the library card use remains with the library card owner or the guardian of a person under the age of 15.

Inform the library of any changes to your name or contact information.

Customer register and data privacy 

Your personal data is saved in the library’s customer register, which is used solely for the activities of the library. You have the right to inspect which of your personal data is saved. The Privacy Statement is available on the library’s website.

Borrowing and renewing loans 

The loan periods for different materials vary. Some library materials are not lent out. More information on loan periods and borrowing privileges is available on the library’s website.

You can renew your loans via the internet or by contacting the library. Loans can be renewed if the material on loan has not been reserved and your borrowing privileges have not been revoked. There is a limit to the number of times a loan can be renewed.

Overdue loans 

A fee is charged for loans returned or renewed after the due date. You will lose your borrowing privileges when your fines have accumulated to a specified amount. See a separate price list for information on fines.

Your borrowing privileges are reinstated once the overdue material is returned and the fines paid. You must replace lost or damaged library material by the corresponding material or by paying the replacement fee set by the library.

We send reminders by email indicating that a loan is overdue. You are responsible for the overdue fees even if you have not received a notification that the material will be due. The overdue fees will also be charged even if failing to renew the loans is due to an operation failure of the online library or other technical problems.

If you do not renew or return material and pay overdue fines, the handling of the matter is transferred to a collection agency. The collection agency will send you an invoice. The invoice covers the replacement cost of the material borrowed, the amount of overdue charges, a collection fee, and, when applicable, legally set penalty interest. You do not have the right to receive back payment after you have paid an invoice even if you return the material. Debt collection for unreturned loans applies also to persons under the age of 18. 

Reservations 

You can order materials from one of the campus libraries of Haaga-Helia, Laurea, and Metropolia to another. There are restrictions on reservations from Haaga-Helia’s Vierumäki library collections. Place reservations online or at the library. You cannot reserve materials you have taken out on loan, and you can only make one reservation for any particular publication. The fee for uncollected reservations is stated in the price list.

Inter-library loans

We can order you material from other libraries as inter-library loan, if the material is not available in the collections of Haaga-Helia, Laurea, or Metropolia. Inter-library loans to other libraries are sent from the library collections with some restrictions. The terms and fees for the inter-library loans service are explained on the library website.

Library fees

Library premises and equipment use

We offer reading and working premises for study and research purposes. Users will follow instructions and keep the library a peaceful place to work. They will also use equipment in compliance with user rules set by the IT services of the organization.

Opening hours and exceptions to them will be provided at the library and on the library website.

Abiding to library rules

Upon receiving the library card, you agree to abide to the library rules. If you fail to abide to the rules or separate instructions provided by library staff, you may lose your borrowing or other privileges for a set period or permanently.

Validity and updating of the rules

The libraries reserve the right to update the library rules as needed. The library rules are placed in a visible spot in the libraries and also on their websites.

These library rules are in force starting 5 April 2022.


Privacy policy

Prices and fees

Your first library card and borrowing materials is free. Fees are detailed below.

Overdue fines

Loans returned or renewed after the due date are subject to overdue fines.

  • Overdue fine is 0,50 € / day / item
  • Maximum overdue fine per loan (item): 15 €
  • The processing fee for invoiced material is 15 € / loan. Lowell Oy will send a payment request for the non-returned material, which includes the replacement price, a loan-specific handling fee of € 15 / loan and collection costs. The demand for payment is collectible.
  • Maximum overdue fine per customer: 80 €
  • Limit of fines for losing borrowing rights:15 €

Overdue fines will not accumulate when a library is closed. You lose your borrowing rights, once your fines reach the limit of €15. You get your borrowing rights back after you have paid your overdue fines. 

If you have payments

  • less than 15 €, renew your loans first and then pay the payments at MetCat Finna or at the library.
  • 15 € or more, first pay the payments at MetCat Finna or at the library and then renew your loans.
  • 15 € or more, and you cannot pay it all at once, you can pay part of the fees at the library. 
     
""

Uncollected reservation

  • 2 €

Replacement prices 

The replacement price for an item is determined by the price of a new copy. If a new copy is not available, the replacement price is determined separately. In these cases, the minimum prices are: 

  •  Books and theses  50 €
  •  Sheet music 15 € 
  •  CDs 20 €
  •  Videos 80 €

You can also replace material by providing a corresponding item to the library (excluding audiovisual material). 

Library card 

  •  First library card 0 €
  •  New card to replace a lost one 3 €

Interlibrary loan service 

Free for Haaga-Helia, Laurea and Metropolia students and staff. For other customers, according to the price list of the sending library, however a minimum of 20 € / item. 

To other libraries in Finland 
  •  Interlibrary loans from the library collections 15 € / item 
  • Article copies10 € for each 1-10 pages. 
 
Libraries in the EU 

Interlibrary loans are not provided for countries outside the EU.

  •  Interlibrary loans from the library collections 50 € / item 
  •  Article copies 20 € for each 1-10 pages.

Information service 

  •  Information service to external customers 70 € / hour (minimum charge 35 €)  
  •  Information skills training on demand 70 € / hour

Fees are valid until further notice. 

Copying and printing prices for students (IT Services)

You will find the Copy Fee Chart and the guide for adding value to the PaperCut system from the IT Services web pages.

Service copies in the library

 Black and white 
  •  A4 – 1-sided 0,50 €
  •  A4 – 2-sided 1,00  €
  •  A3 – 1-sided 1,00 €
  •  A3 – 2-sided 2,00 €
Colour  
  •  A4 – 1-sided 1,00 €
  •  A4 – 2-sided 2,00 €
  •  A3 – 1-sided 2,00 €
  •  A3 – 2-sided 4,00 €
Exception
  • Printed music can not be copied by the library staff

Accessories 

 Cotton bag  3 € 

Puuvillakassi Metropolia-logolla

Paying online in MetCat Finna 

You can pay fees online. When you log in to your MetCat Finna account, you see the total balance of your fees and the fees that are payable online. 

If your fees amount to 15 euros or more, your loaned item has reservations, or you have already renewed the loan 10 times, you cannot renew your loan. After you have paid the fines, you can renew the items which have no reservations and which you have renewed less than 10 times.

Payment is possible via Finnish online banks or by using credit cards (Visa or Mastercard). You cannot change the amount of the payment, therefore the amount must be paid fully.  If the fee is less than 1 €, it cannot be paid online.

Remember to renew your loans when paying overdue payments online

When paying overdue fees, remember to renew your loans as well. Then the same loans will not accrue more late fees. Payment does not automatically extend the loan period.

Paying online step by step 

  1. Login to MetCat Finna. 
  2. Go to Your Account and choose Fines interleaf. 
  3. Click the Pay online button. 
  4. After you have paid, return to MetCat Finna so that the payment will be registered to the library system. 

If you have problems, please contact the library. Payment Service Provider is Paytrail. 

Paying at the library 

You can pay your library fees with debit and credit cards at all 3AMK libraries. 

 

Metropolia Library and Information Services | Accessibility Statement