Printed materials from the collections of Metropolia, Haaga-Helia and Laurea can be found on MetCat Finna.
You can renew your loans, reserve books and check your contact information by logging in to MetCat Finna with your Metropolia username and password.
Access rights to licensed e-resources are university-specific. Most of the licensed e-resources can be used locally on campuses. Remote access to this licensed material requires logging in with your own Metropolia username and password.
You can search for both printed and electronic journals in MetCat Finna
Search for both electronic and printed Metropolia theses in MetCat Finna. Theseus gives you online access to theses and publications from Finnish universities of applied sciences. Part of the printed thesis has been transferred to the Metropolia Archive. Inquiries about the theses in the archive can be made by e-mail: arkisto(at)metropolia.fi or by phone: 040 334 5130.
The focus of the library collection management is on meeting the resource needs of the university community. The library collections and online services offer excellent learning and R&D opportunities for Metropolia students and staff. The Head of Library and Information Services is in charge of collection policy.
The library develops its collections in cooperation with Metropolia students and staff. Our library specialists receive acquisition proposals from customers and acquire resources in accordance with the following criteria:
Printed resources are acquired using vendors selected through competitive tendering. Electronic resources are acquired through FinELib and directly from service providers who can for the most part abide by the FinELib licensing principles. We only acquire e-resources that can be licensed for the entire organisation. Their use must be based on IP addresses or SSO authentication. We do not purchase e-resources that require user-specific licence management or that are only available to a specific group of users.
We acquire both electronic and printed resources. E-books purchased by the library can be used with Metropolia username in accordance with their terms of use. Open access e-books are also available freely online.
Printed collections are held in the library located on the same campus as the relevant field of study. The availability of printed resources is increased by 3AMK library cooperation, interlibrary loans and loans from the National Repository Library.
Material included in course requirements is acquired in in electronic format when available. Our aim is to acquire unlimited access licences for e-books. Some service providers offer licences where the number of simultaneous users is limited. Some course books are not available in an electronic format for libraries.
We are unable to acquire printed course books for all course participants to be used simultaneously. However, two week loans improve course book availability. We also provide copies of course books that can only be used in the library and are not for loan. We make acquisitions of printed books using the formula 2 books per 10 students per course + one copy for the reference library.
We subscribe to journals relevant to Metropolia degree programmes in printed and electronic format. Subscriptions are reviewed annually.
Theses are mainly stored in electronic format. They can be found in Theseus, the online service provided by the Rectors' Conference of Finnish Universities of Applied Sciences Arene. Printed versions of theses are delivered to the library only if they cannot be published in electronic format. Printed theses are stored in the library for five years. They are then transferred to the Metropolia archive.
The library collections are evaluated and weeded regularly. We cooperate with the teaching staff as needed when removing printed items from our collections. Weeded material is sent to the National Repository Library, from where it can be borrowed as needed. Usage statistics are utilised in the evaluation of e-resources. Subscriptions may be discontinued based on low use.
The library accepts donations that complement its current collections. Donated material becomes the property of the library, and the library decides which donated material is added to the collections. The selection principles are the same as for any purchased material.
Metropolia publications
Most Metropolia publications are freely available online in PDF or other formats. The library supports open access publishing. We are responsible for the self-archiving of non-open access publications by Metropolia staff in Theseus.
All our customers can make acquisition proposals. Please fill the e-form below.
We also acquire material for staff members and projects for work purposes. The department or project pays for the resource ordered by the library. These resources are not recorded in the MetCat Finna online service.
We do not acquire electronic teaching material (teacher’s guides, for example) or new software for a degree programme or a separate project.
Metropolia Library and Information Services | Accessibility Statement