Skip to main content

Library Services: Home

Corona info

Covid-19 situation has an effect on library services. 

Libraries

  • Library is closed on Arabia and Myyrmäki campuses. Myllypuro Campus library is open to self-service borrowing and returning 22.6.-9.8. Mon-Fri 8 am to 4 pm.
    • 1-3 July Myllypuro Campus Library is closed due to Metropolia data services maintenance
  • Our online services are open
    • chat with prolonged opening hours
    • contact us by email (library (at) metropolia.fi)

Reservations and borrowing

You can pick up book ordered before 16 June at campus reception services in Arabia (Hämeentie 135 D) and Myyrmäki until 30 June.

Myllypuro library is open for self-service on weekdays June - 9 August.

For requesting books at Myllypuro Campus library, do as follows

  • Make sure that the book you want to borrow is available on shelf in Myllypuro
  • Request the book by filling out a form
  • You will receive an email, when the requested book is available for pickup at the library

Request form

If you no longer need your reservation, contact the library via email of chat

Reservations from 18.6.

From 18.6. you can borrow and reserve only materials located in Myllypuro. Myllypuro Campus library is open to self-service borrowing and returning 22.6.-9.8. Mon-Fri 8 am to 4 pm.

  • The reservations are on the reserved books shelf in the Myllypuro Campus library 
  • Use the self-service station to borrow and return materials

Due dates and renewing

The library has renewed the loans due in March.

  • All due dates after March 2, 2020 have been extended until September 2, 2020, despite renewal limits or reservations. However, please check the status of your loans in MetCat Finna!
  • If you have loans with a due date before March 2, 2020, please renew them in MetCat Finna
  • There will be no overdue fines even if you are unable to renew your loans because of reservations

Returns

It is possible to return library material through the reception services of Arabia (Hämeentie 135 D) and Myyrmäki until 30th June and Myllypuro until 18th June. 

Do this if you want to return the books you borrowed 

  • Pack the books in a plastic bag and write your name on the package
  • Leave the package at the reception services (Mon - Fri 8 am - 3.30 pm)
  • Write your name on a list at the reception services
  • If you are unable to visit campuses, you can send them by mail.
    Postal addresses of the Campus libraries.

NOTE! Loans returned to reception services or by mail will still appear in your account in MetCat Finna. Returns will be processed in the library when work on campuses can be resumed.

Returns 22.6.-7.8.

Myllypuro campus library is open to self-service borrowing and returning 22.6.-9.8. Mon-Fri 8 am to 4 pm. Closed 1-3 July.

Payments and fines 

  • No overdue fines starting 16 March until the libraries open again. Fines accrued up to that date can be paid online in MetCat Finna

E-resources

Metropolia library

3UAS libraries (Haaga-Helia, Laurea and Metropolia libraries) have a joint library system. 

Libraries on Metropolia campuses

We provide  

  • up-to-date collections for your professional needs
  • information resources available in the library or 24/7 online
  • an open learning environment to support your professional growth
  • professional assistance
  • information skills training. Read more about our Library training services.  

Get to know our LibGuides! Our guides include tips on relevant information resources in your field. 

Resources - joint collection

You will find the resources in the collections of Haaga-Helia, Laurea and Metropolia from the online service of your own university.

E-collection

Each 3UAS library subscribes licensed e-material, which is only accessible for their own students and staff. Remote access to this licensed material requires logging in with your own UAS username and password.

Most of the licensed material can be used locally on campus.

You can renew your loans, reserve books and check your contact information by logging in to MetCat Finna with your Metropolia username and password.

Journals

You can search for both printed and electronic journals in MetCat Finna

>> Browse Printed journals in MetCat Finna
>> Browse E-journals in MetCat Finna

Theses

Search for both electronic and printed Metropolia theses in MetCat Finna. Theseus gives you online access to theses and publications from Finnish universities of applied sciences. Part of the printed thesis has been transferred to the Metropolia Archive. Inquiries about the theses in the archive can be made by e-mail: arkisto(at)metropolia.fi or by phone: 040 334 5130.

>> Find electronic theses and publications from Finnish universities of applied sciences in Theseus

Remote access

Login with your Metropolia id, and you can use our licensed e-materials anywhere - at home, at a café, on the train.

Please, let us know if you don't need your reservation.

LibGuides

LibGuides is an online service that provides information on library services and electronic resources. 

We have two types of guides: General and Subject Guides.

  • From the General Guides you will find information on library services, such as e-books or e-resources in teaching.
  • From the Subject Guides you will find materials on your field of study, and tips for information seeking. Login to the databases with your Metropolia id, and you can use the e-materials anywhere.

All library databases are found in the LibGuides E-resources A–Z list. 

>> E-resources A-Z list

>> LibGuides

After graduation

After graduating you can still use the library services.

  • Please remember to update your contact information in the library or with this form.

Remote access to our licensed e-resources is not possible, but you can use them in the library.

How to renew and place requests?

Logging in to MetCat Finna with your library card, you can check and renew your loans, place requests and save favourites.

  • Select Login with library card.
  • Library Card Number: Type the barcode number from your Metropolia library card.
  • PIN code: Type the PIN code of your Metropolia library card.  If you don`t remember the PIN code, reset your PIN on MetCat Finna or contact the library.
  • Select Login.

> Go to MetCat Finna

Metropolia Library on the web

Learn, find

>> LibGuides 

Borrow, renew, reserve

>> MetCat Finna


You will find us also on these services

FacebookTwitterPinterestYouTubeWordpress: Tiedon janoaInstagram

Metropolian kirjasto- ja tietopalvelut | Metropolia Library and Information Services