Metropolia LibGuides: Information Resources for Technology: Databases and e-resources

E-resources

Find information on the key databases for technology. Use these databases to locate articles (e.g. research articles, systematic reviews) and reports. Each e-resource service or database has its own search page.

See full list of available databases in Databases and e-resources A-Z.

Databases and e-resources A-Z

Research articles

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
information technology, telecommunications, programming, artificial intelligence
The ACM Digital Library is a research, discovery and networking platform containing:
- The Full-Text Collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.
- A collection of curated and hosted full-text publications from select publishers.
- The ACM Guide to Computing Literature, a comprehensive bibliographic database focused exclusively on the field of computing.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
electronics, information technology, biotechnology, robotics, environmental technology, construction engineering, artificial intelligence
Access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE): journals, magazines, conferences and published standards.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary e.g. technology, medicine, natural sciences, social services, economics.
Information source from the fields of medicine, natural sciences, engineering, economics, environmental science, arts, humanities and social sciences. Includes reference information and e-journals.
ACS - American Chemical Society (-2023) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
chemistry, biotechnology, food chemistry, environmental technology
Access to journals and articles published between 1996-2023. Agreement with ACS not renewed starting from 2024.
More information on FinELib pages.

ACS Publications (American Chemical Society) provides access to a comprehensive collection of the most cited peer-reviewed journals in the chemical and related sciences. In addition, the ACS also publishes a weekly newsmagazine, Chemical & Engineering News.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary e.g. technology, business, education, health and medicine
Contents include business (ABI/INFORM), health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
leadership, marketing, organisational information, human resource management, social science
Articles cover areas: management, strategy, leadership, marketing, human resources management, engineering, technology, etc.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE: green building, renewable energy, sustainable development, recycling, pollution, climate change, environmental economics
Platform which includes databases such as Business Source Elite (BSE), CINAHL, MEDLINE, GreenFILE, ERIC, Regional Business News & Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts.

Special interest in medicine, biomedicine and life sciences?

If you are looking for information on medicine, biomedicine or life sciences, please take a look at the resources in Information Resources for Healthcare and Social Services Guide!

Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistics and market data platform: statistics, consumer surveys, industry studies, market analyses and forecasts, demographic trends, and much more.
Includes statistics, consumer surveys, industry studies, market analyses and forecasts, demographic trends, and much more. Includes Statista Consumer Insights (Global Consumer Survey) for in-depth analysis of consumer behaviour.

Legal information

Finlex: Finnish law. Some translations of Finnish acts and decrees also available in English
EUR-LEX: EU law
GlobaLex: International law

Remote access

E-resources are available within Metropolia network. Remote access is only available for Metropolia students and staff: log in with your Metropolia ID and password.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar: web search engine for scholarly literature.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly literature (articles, theses, books, abstracts, etc.) across a wide variety of disciplines and sources, for example academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories.