Skip to main content

Healthcare and Social Services: Locating Articles

Full text available

Some databases contain links to full text articles available in electronic format.

Examples:

 

Full text available in another database

If the full text article is not available in a specific database, you can check its online availability by using the SFX-link.

Search for a specific article

If an article is not available in the database you are using, or if you are trying to locate a specific article, check its availability on Google, MetCat Finna and Helka.

1. Google the article title

Google is useful when locating open access (i.e. free) articles and journals. You can also sign into Google Scholar (using this link) with Metropolia username, which will give you access to many journals subscribed by Metropolia library.

2. Search for the journal in MetCat

      

MetCat will show if the journal is available (either in print or online as an e-journal).

    

3. Check if the journal is available in other libraries

If the journal is not available in MetCat, check the availability of the journal in e.g. Helka (Helsinki university library resources). If the journal is available, articles can be accessed by visiting the university library.

4. If you are still unable to locate the article, contact library staff

Give them the specific article reference and let them know where you have already searched.

Metropolian kirjasto- ja tietopalvelut | Metropolia Library and Information Services