The ACM Digital Library contains ACM's publications and other full-text material related to computing, and The Guide to Computing Literature reference database.
The accessibility features are described in the accessibility statement of the service.
You can use the basic search or the advanced search page.
To export search results to the reference management system.
E-resources may be used for teaching and study purposes by Metropolia students, staff and local library customers. Redistribution and commercial use of the content is prohibited. By using the e-resources, you agree to the terms of use and you agree to respect them.
Articles in chemistry from 2006-2023. License has not been renewed for 2024 onwards.
See general accessibility guidelines on the Accessibility page of this guide.
The service includes a basic search and an advanced search. The advanced search can be accessed from the search results page.
Export a single reference to a reference management application in RIS format.
The e-resources may be used for teaching and study purposes by Metropolia students, staff and local library customers. Redistribution and commercial use of the content is prohibited. By using the e-resources, you agree to the terms of use and agree to respect them.
Full-text articles on business, management and economics. Also includes Datamonitor company profiles.
The service includes Harvard Business Review. HBR is licensed for private use only, therefore direct links to articles are not allowed.
You can search for information with basic search or advanced search. We recommend using the advanced search form. Basic search can be used when the search is very simple or if you know how to create search phrases.
You can enter words or search phrases in basic search. If you search with two words, e.g. mental health, the words will be five words or less apart in the search results. If you want the words to be next to each other in the search result, use a phrase search, e.g. "business environment".
Advanced search helps you to build a search phrase. Enter alternative search terms in the same field, separated by the OR operator. Then either or both can appear in the search result.
The different parts of the search topic are placed in different fields. By default, fields are combined with the AND operator. You should not change the default operator.
BSE offers a wide range of possibilities to narrow down the search results. Quick filtering
Under All filters you will find more filtering options.
Export the search results to a reference management system
You can also share the search result on GoogleDrive or OneDrive with Share.
The e-resources may be used for teaching and study purposes by Metropolia students, staff and local library customers. Redistribution and commercial use of the content is prohibited.
Individual articles/journals may have different terms of use. Always check the conditions at the end of each article. No direct links are allowed to articles published in the Harvard Business Review.
By using the e-resources, you accept the terms of use and accept to respect them.
Articles in nursing science. Includes The Finnish journal Hoitotiede.
If the article is in HTML format, you can use Ebsco's Text-to-Speech function. Some articles in PDF format can be listened to using the PDF's own reader function.
You can search for information on basic or advanced search pages.
We recommend using the advanced search form. The basic search form can be used when your search is very simple or if you know how to create search phrases.
You can enter words or search phrases in the basic search. If you search with two words, e.g. mental health, the search results will be max. five words apart. If you want the words to be next to each other in the search result, use phrase search, e.g. "mental health".
Advanced search form helps you build a search phrase.
Enter alternative search terms in the same field, separated by the OR operator. The search result will contain either or both of them.
The different parts of the topic are placed in different fields. By default, fields are combined with the AND operator. You should not change the default operator.
CINAHL offers a wide range of options to narrow your search results.
Under All filters, you will find more filtering options.
Export the search result to a reference management system
You can also share the search result to GoogleDrive or OneDrive using the Share function
The e-resources may be used for teaching and study purposes by Metropolia students, staff and local library customers. Redistribution and commercial use of the content is prohibited. Individual articles/journals may have specific terms of use. Please always check the terms at the end of each article. By using the e-resources, you accept the terms of use and accept to respect them.
The Cochrane Library contains evidence-based information. The service includes
You can resize text.
The service includes a basic search and an advanced search. The basic search is suitable for quick searches, but not for extensive searches. In the advanced search, use the + icon to add more fields.
The default search targets the fields Title, Abstract and Keywords. You can change the targeting using the drop-down menu. When you enter the first part of a search term, word suggestions appear below the search box.
The Browse function on the front page allows you to browse reviews and protocols by subject area.
The content may be used by students, researchers and staff of the participating organisation, as well as by local library customers.
Through EBSCOhost, you can search from several Ebsco databases at the same time. Databases:
EBSCO has a feature that allows you to translate your article into different languages.
You can search all EbscoHost databases or select the databases you want by selecting All databases above the search box.
See the CINAHL or Business Source Elite tab for more detailed search instructions.
The e-resources may be used for teaching and study purposes by Metropolia students, staff and local library customers. Redistribution and commercial use of the content is prohibited. Individual articles/journals may have different terms of use. Please always check the conditions at the end of each article.
By using the e-resources, you accept the terms of use and agree to respect them.
Articles from Emerald's journals on business, management, marketing, human resources, technology and quality.
You can search for information on the basic or advanced search page. We recommend using the advanced search. You can use the basic search when the search is very simple or if you know how to create search phrases.
Truncation with * or ?
Truncation cannot be used at the beginning of a word. For example product* searches for products, production, etc. Organi?ation searches for organisation and organization.
Phrases, i.e. multi-part search terms, are quoted, for example "usability assessment". Truncation cannot be used within a phrase.
Boolean operators: AND, OR, NOT.
The contents can be used for teaching and study purposes by Metropolia students, staff and local library customers. Redistribution and commercial use of the content is prohibited. By using the e-resources, you agree to the terms of use and agree to respect them.
Articles and standards in electrical engineering and information technology.
The service includes a basic search and an advanced search.
Phrases, i.e. multi-part search terms in quotation marks, e.g. "artificial intelligence".
Truncation with * also works at the beginning and in the middle of a word. For example, electro* to find electron, electronic, electromagnetic, etc.
Boolean operators AND, OR and NOT. Execution order with parentheses. E.g. ("artificial intelligence" OR "machine learning") AND diseases.
The e-resources may be used for teaching and study purposes by Metropolia students, staff and local library customers. Redistribution and commercial use of the content is prohibited. By using the e-resources, you agree to the terms of use and agree to respect them.
Health care, nursing. Includes various publications: evidence summaries, care recommendations, systematic reviews and their protocols.
Includes the tools Paces and Sumari.
The basic search uses natural language, Boolean operators are not used.
Under Publication Types you can select a publication type, e.g. Systematic Reviews.
The e-resources may be used for teaching and study purposes by Metropolia students, staff and local library customers. Redistribution and commercial use of the content is prohibited. By using the e-resources, you agree to the terms of use and agree to respect them.
AI-based recommendation tool for finding scientific articles.
Search with text or a pdf-file.
Sign in with your Metropolia email address or Microsoft ID.
The linking service activated in Keenious provides links to articles available at Metropolia. Open access articles can be found directly in the service.
Keenious Help Center provides information about Keenious and help for using Keenious.
Keenious organizes webinars regularly. Join in to learn more about Keenious.
Medline is an international reference database for the pharmaceutical and health sciences.
Medline contents are also included in PubMed.
Medline is included in PubMed, so a separate search of Medline is not necessary. Medline is a reference database, so most articles do not include the full text. In the Access options section of the reference in the search result, there is a Check SFX for fulltext availability link, which may lead to the full text of the article located in another database.
See the CINAHL tab for more detailed instructions.
The e-resources may be used for teaching and study purposes by Metropolia students, staff and local library customers. Redistribution and commercial use of the content is prohibited. By using the e-resources, you agree to the terms of use and agree to respect them.
Music articles, contains full-text articles from around 140 journals in the fields of classical music, opera, jazz, popular music and pop culture, music education, musicology and music theory.
You can use the basic search or the advanced search page. You should search in the basic search when the search is very simple or if you know how to create search phrases. We recommend using the advanced search form.
By default, MPD searches from all the contents of the database, including the full text of the article. If you do not want the search to cover the full text of the article, select Anywhere except full text - NOFT instead of Anywhere.
For more tips, see the "Search tips" section on the database homepage.
The e-resources may be used for teaching and study purposes by Metropolia students, staff and local library customers. Redistribution and commercial use of the content is prohibited. By using the e-resources, you agree to the terms of use and you agree to respect them.
Article references and full texts on theatre, dance, film, television, stage technology, performing arts and opera.
You can search on the basic search or advanced search. Use the basic search when the search is very simple or if you know how to create search phrases. We recommend you use the advanced search form.
By default, the database searches from all the contents of the database, including the full text of the article. If you do not want the search to cover the full text of the article, select Anywhere except full text - NOFT instead of Anywhere.
For more tips, see the "Search tips" section on the database homepage.
The e-resources may be used for teaching and study purposes by Metropolia students, staff and local library customers. Redistribution and commercial use of the content is prohibited. By using the e-resources, you accept the terms of use and agree to respect them.
Search all ProQuest databases: ProQuest Central, Music Periodicals Database, Performing Arts Periodicals Database, Ebook Central.
You can choose databases from Change Databases. You can search all databases at once or select one or more databases.
Searching from one database at a time can be a good idea, because
The e-resources may be used for teaching and study purposes by Metropolia students, staff and local library customers. Redistribution and commercial use of the content is prohibited. By using the e-resources, you accept the terms of use and agree to respect them.
Please read the specific terms of use for each database.
Proquest Central contains more than 40 databases and 11,000 journals in a variety of subject areas, including medicine and health sciences, social sciences, education, psychology, business (ABI/INFORM), social sciences, science and technology, and visual and performing arts.
We recommend using the advanced search form. You can use the basic search when the search is very simple or if you know how to create search phrases.
By default, the database searches also within the full texts of the articles. You can choose Anywhere except full text - NOFT to avoid that.
Without logging into ProQuest Central, you can save references one search results page at a time. By default 20 references are displayed on the search results page, you can change this in the bottom right of the search results page.
The e-resources may be used for teaching and study purposes by Metropolia students, staff and local library customers. Redistribution and commercial use of the content is prohibited. By using the e-resources, you accept the terms of use and agree to respect them.
PubMed is an scientific article database open to all.
PubMed includes the contents of MEDLINE, as well as other material. PubMed contains links to the articles, but they may be paywalled.
Use the basic search when the search is very simple or if you know how to make search phrases. Alternatively, you can use the Advanced Search Builder.
Text file or excel
Reference manager
By using the e-Materials, you accept and agree to be bound by the Terms of Use.
Articles from over 900 journals published by SAGE. Subject areas: medicine and health sciences, social sciences, business, management, biomedicine, education, cultural studies, psychology, sociology, communication and engineering.
You can search in the basic search or the advanced search. By default, the database searches also within the full text of the publications. The advanced search page allows you to target your search more precisely.
You can save max. 10 references. Acquires creating Your profile.
The e-resources may be used for teaching and study purposes by Metropolia students, staff and local library customers. Redistribution and commercial use of the content is prohibited. By using the e-resources, you accept the terms of use and agree to respect them.
Articles from Elsevier on medicine, natural sciences, engineering, economics, environmental sciences and social sciences.
Most of the articles can be opened in both html and pdf format. Most screen readers read html text well.
Search with basic or advanced search. By default, the search will also target full texts of publications.
Filter to Metropolia subscriptions only: Refine by: Subscribed journals.
Save and export references to a reference manager
The e-resources may be used for teaching and study purposes by Metropolia students, staff and local library customers. Redistribution and commercial use of the content is prohibited. By using the e-resources, you accept the terms of use and agree to respect them.
The Taylor & Francis Social Sciences & Humanities Library contains articles from a wide range of disciplines, including business, arts, education, environmental design, communication, social sciences, psychology, sociology and sport.
The content is published in both HTML and easy-to-use PDF formats. The service includes a Readspeaker listening function, which makes the text of a journal article available to users through synthetic speech and streaming.
You can search on the side of the search or on the side of the advanced search. The service also displays materials that Metropolia has not purchased for use. Use Only show content I have full access to to leave only materials licensed for Metropolia.
By default, the search will also search within the full text of the articles. On the Advanced search page, it is possible to target the search more precisely.
Save the search result as CVS when logged in with Export search results.
Without logging in you can save on page at a time. Choose
The e-resources may be used for teaching and study purposes by Metropolia students, staff and local library customers. Redistribution and commercial use of the content is prohibited. By using the e-resources, you accept the terms of use and agree to respect them.
The collection includes scientific journals in the fields of medicine, natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, engineering, life sciences and chemistry.
Wiley is committed to making the content of the Wiley Online Library accessible to all. A screen reader is available. Text can be resized to make it easier to read.
You can use basic or advanced search. By default, Wiley searches also within the full-text contents of the articles. On the advanced search page, you can target the search more precisely.
You can save up to 20 search results.
The e-resources may be used for teaching and study purposes by Metropolia students, staff and local library customers. Redistribution and commercial use of the content is prohibited. By using the e-resources, you accept the terms of use and agree to respect them.
You can also find international articles and journals on MetCat Finna.
Search for articles on MetCat Finna in the International e-resources search.
You can browse e-journals on MetCat Finance's Browse e-journals page. Filter magazines by subject.
Want to find scientific articles easily? Keenious can help!
Keenious uses artificial intelligence to find articles. You can search for articles with free text or a pdf file.
You can download the add-in to Word or Google docs. With the add-on, Keenious will search the text of the document for relevant articles.
Metropolia Library and Information Services | Accessibility Statement
