Basics of Information Search

Searching techniques

You need to know how the search works. MetCat Finna and other databases provide results exactly according to what is asked of them. In order to get relevant and comprehensive search results you need to know how the search works. You can then formulate a successful search.

Online Research: Tips for Effective Search Strategies (video)

Combine search terms

You can specify or expand your searches by combining separate search terms!

Use the words AND, OR and NOT.

• AND: makes the result more specific by providing results that include all search terms given.
  For example, the search studying AND universities of applied sciences provides results that discuss studying in universities of applied sciences.

• OR: expands the result by including alternative search terms.
  For example, the search green OR sustainable OR renewable provides results that include at least one of your search terms.

• NOT: leaves out a part of the result.
  For example, the search marketing NOT "social media" provides information on marketing but not from the perspective of social media.

Phrases

You can combine separate search terms into a search phrase using quotation marks, e.g. “user-centred design", "social media".
Without the quotation marks, you would also receive results that include only one of the search terms given. For example, searching with social media provides results that include only the word media or the word social. This makes your search result less accurate and notably wider.

Search terms with the same beginning

Sometimes you may wish to use several search terms that begin with the same letters. You can include them all in your search by entering the shared beginning and the truncation symbol *.

• The search term robot* provides results including the words robot, robotics, robotisation, etc.
• Without the truncation symbol, the different spellings and inflections are excluded from the search result.

Same word, different spellings

English words may have varied spelling. Taking this into account improves your search. E.g.

• ageing / aging
• customise / customize
• wellbeing / well-being
• gerotechnology / gerontechnology​

If you get too many results

• Narrow down the result, for example, based on publication language, date or content type.
• Try a more specific search term. 
• Did you use the truncation symbol? Check that it is in the right place. Truncating the term too early can produce unnecessary results. Or use the whole search term without truncation.

If you need more results

• Use a more general search term.
• Think of synonyms for your search terms and use them.
• If you have combined several search terms with the AND operator, leave out some of the search terms.
• Try another database.
• Check the truncation symbol. Are the inflections of the word also included in your search?
• Do you need to look for source material in another language?

When you get no results

• Check that you have typed the search terms correctly.
• Try some other database or online service.
• Did you use the correct truncation symbol?
• Find new search terms. Use the database’s list of subject terms (Thesaurus/Subject terms/Headings).